top of page

2022 Fellows Announcement

Joan Floura of Floura Teeter Landscape Architects Elected to Prestigious American Society of Landscape Architects Council of Fellows

“ASLA Fellows represent the most accomplished and respected professionals in their field,” says President Eugenia Martin, FASLA

American Society of Landscape Architects 2022 Class of Fellows. Photo: ASLA

Baltimore, MD (July 7, 2022) – The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the election of Joan Floura of Floura Teeter as one of 27 ASLA Fellows. ASLA Fellows are recognized for their exceptional contributions to the landscape architecture profession and society at large. Election to the ASLA Council of Fellows is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and is based on their works, leadership/management, knowledge and service.

“Every landscape architect helps shape their community for the better, and ASLA Fellows represent the most accomplished and respected professionals in their field,” said ASLA President Eugenia Martin, FASLA. “Their exceptional contributions from coast to coast and internationally have helped advance equity, environmental sustainability, and excellence in design and planning. Congratulations to the 2022 class of ASLA Fellows!”

“ASLA works tirelessly to support its members and amplify the good they do in the world, so naming a new class of fellows is a joyful reminder of everything that landscape architects accomplish,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen (@toreycarter). “We extend our warmest thanks to the new class of ASLA Fellows for exemplifying the best in the field.”

Joan Floura has furthered the profession and the crucial role of landscape architects within the transportation sector with her work on large-scale infrastructure, heavy construction, and transportation projects, which are historically engineer-driven and resistant to design thinking. Joan’s work encompasses millions of square feet of outdoor recreation areas, roadway improvements, and transit system hubs, including work on suburban Maryland’s $1+ billion Intercounty Connector (an 18.8-mile toll road) and Purple Line (a 16-mile light-rail project). Founded more than 20 years ago, Joan’s award-winning, woman-owned firm is leading efforts to infuse climate-conscious strategies into public projects throughout the Mid-Atlantic and beyond. Her leadership also promotes women and minorities throughout the profession. As an active alumna of North Dakota State University, she was instrumental in ensuring the landscape architecture department gained status as an independent entity during a program transition. Her ongoing volunteerism in community and nonprofit projects brings together professional education with public service, deepening future professionals’ awareness of the value of community insight in landscape design. Since 2014, her firm’s “Community Grows Here” initiative has provided design services and volunteer workdays to nonprofits in the Baltimore area. Joan’s influence and impact in many different aspects of landscape architecture reach beyond Maryland borders to propel the profession into the future.

ASLA Fellows will be elevated during a special investiture ceremony at the 2022 Conference on Landscape Architecture, which will be held in San Francisco Nov. 11-14, 2022. More information about the ASLA Council of Fellows is available here: Fellow biographies are available here: Photos for media use are available here:

2022 ASLA Fellows:

● Mike Albert, ASLA, Design Workshop, Inc., Aspen, Colorado

● Richard Alomar, ASLA, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

● John Amodeo, ASLA, IBI Placemaking, Boston, Massachusetts

● María Bellalta, ASLA, Boston Architectural College, Boston, Massachusetts

● Deneen Crosby, ASLA, Crosby Schlessinger Smallridge, Boston, Massachusetts

● Galen S. Drake, ASLA, J2Design, Phoenix, Arizona

● Bruce Dvorak, ASLA, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

● Kyle L. Fiddelke, ASLA, OJB, San Diego

● Joan Floura, ASLA, Floura Teeter Landscape Architects, Baltimore, Maryland

● Christian Gabriel, ASLA, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, Riverdale, Maryland

● William A. Green, ASLA, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, Rhode Island

● Adam Greenspan, ASLA, PWP Landscape Architecture, Berkeley, California

● Robert Hughes, ASLA, HGOR, Atlanta, Georgia

● Claire Humber, ASLA, SE Group, Burlington, Vermont

● Mark Klopfer, ASLA, Klopfer Martin Design Group and Wentworth Institute of Technology, Boston, Massachusetts

● Claire Latané, ASLA, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, California

● Samir Mathur, International ASLA, Integral Designs International Studio, New Delhi, Delhi, India

● Philip J. Meyer, ASLA, Baughman Company, Wichita, Kansas

● Ramon V. Murray, ASLA, Murray Design Group, Orlando, Florida

● Heidi Natura, ASLA, Living Habitats, Chicago, Illinois

● Jennifer L. Nitzky, ASLA, Studio HIP, Ossining, New York

● Kevin Osburn, ASLA, Rundell Ernstberger Associates, Indianapolis, Indiana

● Jeffrey J. Pongonis, ASLA, MKSK, Columbus, Ohio

● Nancy Prince, ASLA, New York City Department of Parks and Recreation, New York, New York

● Debra Schmucker, ASLA, Cornerstone Planning & Design, Indianapolis, Indiana

● Michael Stanley, ASLA, Dream Design International, Rapids City, South Dakota

● April Westcott, ASLA, MG Landscape & Irrigation, Indianapolis, Indiana

About ASLA and the ASLA Fund

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the professional association for landscape architects in the United States, representing more than 15,000 members. ASLA Mission: Empowering our members to design a sustainable and equitable world through landscape architecture. ASLA Fund Mission: Investing in global, social, and environmental change through the art and science of landscape architecture.


bottom of page