top of page
Gala Graphic (5).png

2022 Professional + Student Chapter Awards 

The Maryland Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects recently held its annual Awards Gala to celebrate the exceptional work and accomplishments of its members. This year’s event drew more than 120 members and supporters to Historic Savage Mill in Howard County and featured a special commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Maryland Chapter. To celebrate the milestone, event organizers assembled a panel of long-time members and leaders within the profession to present a retrospective of major accomplishments and the impacts that the chapter has had on the field of landscape architecture. The panel was comprised of Greg Hoer (chapter president, 1980), Grace Fielder (member of the Maryland Board of Examiners of Landscape Architects), Barbara Hopkins (chapter president 2016-2017), and Brian Reetz (chapter president, 2004) and was moderated by Jack Sullivan, FASLA, and Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture at the University of Maryland.

This year's award categories included General Design, General Design (Unbuilt), Residential Design (Single and Multi-Family), Institutional, Infrastructural, Communications, Analysis & Planning, and Research. Distinctions included Merit Awards, Honor Awards, the Traveling Award of Innovative Excellence, and the Presidential Award of Excellence. See this year's winners, below.

To watch this year's awards, visit the link below:

Student Awards

University of Maryland, College Park


Tali Kirshenboin, Student ASLA

Honor Award


Yike Xu,

Student ASLA

Merit Award


Hannah Savio,

Student ASLA

Honor Award


Alyssa Steele,

Student ASLA

Merit Award


Luke Peterson,

Student ASLA

Merit Award


Xiaojin Ren,

Student ASLA

Merit Award

Morgan State University


Maura Roth-Gormley, 

Student ASLA

Honor Award


Anthony Dye,

Student ASLA

Merit Award

Student Scholarship and Fellowship Winners


Tali Kirshenboin, Student ASLA



Ellie Chetelat,

Student ASLA



Audrey Seiz,

Student ASLA


Merit Awards

GeneralDesign_1771NSt_Image7 - Zoha Memari.jpg

General Design

1771 N Street


Project Team: Stream Realty Partners, Davis Construction, Wiles Mensch Corporation, SK&A MD, GHT Limited

design unbuilt_CylburnNEC_003 - Colleen Vacelet.png

General Design (Unbuilt)

The Cylburn Arboretum Nature

Education Center

Intreegue Design, Inc.

Project Team: The Clyburn Arboretum Friends, Ziger|Snead Architects,

Metcalfe Exhibit Designers

General Design_Hollywood Gateway Park_2 - Joe Ignatius.jpg

General Design

Hollywood Gateway Park

Floura Teeter Landscape Architects

Project Team: WBCM, Pi.Kl,

City of College Park

Image-5-Edit-Edit - Kevin J. Gaughan.jpg
Institutional_Patrick & Rain Mullans Garden_007 - Brian Shadrick.jpg

Institutional Design

Patrick & Raine Mullan's Garden

Site Resources, Inc.

Owner: Johns Hopkins Medicine -

Sandra Bailey; Donors: Tim and Mary Mullan; Fountain Design & Install: Fountain Craft MFG, Art and Trent Garmin; Designers: PM Brian Shadrick, Designers Fritz Behlen and Drew Yelverton; Contractor: Mullan Contracting

Residential Design (Single-Family)

Spring House Garden

Form Garden Design

Project Team: Kevin Gaughan, ASLA, Principal CHLA; Fine Earth Landscapes

Honor Awards

GeneralDesign_LGHQ_Image1 - Zoha Memari.jpg

General Design

LG North American Headquarters


Project Team: LG, Turner Construction, BrightView

Institutional Design_Grinnell College Kington Plaza_Image 1 - Denise Clapp.jpg

Institutional Design

Kington Plaza and Christiansen Outdoor Learning Spaces

Ayers Saint Gross

Client: Grinnell College; MEP Engineer: MEP Associates; Civil Engineer: CGA; Planting Resource: Confluence; Ayers Saint Gross Team: Amelle Schultz, Adam Ravestein, Jonathan Ceci, Shelly Johnson, Kirby Long

Institutional Design_School Inside-Out_IMAGE 4 - Jonathan Ceci.jpg

Institutional Design

School Inside-Out

Jonathan Ceci Landscape Architects

Client: The Independence School; Prime Consultant & Landscape Architect: Jonathan Ceci Landscape Architects (J. Ceci and Matthew Johnson); Civil Engineer: Pennoni Engineering; Space Programming: Nature Explore; Contractor & Fabrication Team: Turfpro Inc. (landscape), Eastern States Group (sitework), The Challenge Program (wood fabrications).

Institutional_UMD Clark Hall_1.jpg

Institutional Design

UMD Clark Hall

Mahan Rykiel Associates

Owner: University of Maryland; Mahan Rykiel Associates: Heidi Thomas, Joe Burkhardt, James Sink & Terry Burns; Ballinger; Site Resources, Inc.; The Lighting Practice; Columbia Engineering, Inc.

General Design_Rash Field_1.jpg

General Design

Rash Field Park I

Mahan Rykiel Associates

Project Team: Waterfront Partnership; Landscape Architect (PRIME): Mahan Rykiel Associates; Architect: Gensler; Architect of Record: KPN Architects; Civil Engineer & Building Structural Engineering: RK&K Engineering; Site Structural Engineer: Albrecht Engineering; Shade Structure Engineer: SGH; MEP: CCJM; Signage: Younts Design; Environmental Consulting and Engineering: Urban Green Environmental; Skate Park Design: Grindline; Playground Consultants: Nature Learning Institute; Lighting: Brandston Partnership Inc.; General Contractor: Whiting-Turner

Atkins0087 - Cosette Schulties.jpg

Infrastructural Design

Parking Lot Alive!

Campion Hruby Landscape Architects

Project Team: Adkins Arboretum, Unity Landscaping, Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Traveling Award of Innovative Excellence

General Design Unbuilt_ADA University_5.jpg

Design (Unbuilt)

ADA University - South Campus

Mahan Rykiel Associates

Prime: Mahan Rykiel Associates,

Architect: Kleinrock Studio Architecture

Presidential Award

214135_10_N47_web - Om K.jpg

General Design


Hord Coplan Macht

Spencer Ellis Award

unnamed (1).jpg
unnamed (2).jpg
unnamed (4).jpg
unnamed (3).jpg
unnamed (5).jpg

Spencer Ellis Award

Parks & People

Mid-Career Professional Award

unnamed (2).png
unnamed (1).png

Mid-Career Professional Award

Om Khurjekar, ASLA

Principal + Owner - Hord Coplan Macht

Award of Excellence

unnamed (6).jpg

J. Kenneth Schmidt

Principal - Retired, Mahan Rykiel Associates

Lifetime Achievement Award

unnamed (9).jpg
unnamed (7).jpg

Lifetime Achievement

Dennis Nola, FASLA

Coordinator of BLA Program

Retired, University of Maryland

Thank You to our Generous Sponsors


Victor-Stanley-Logo white.png


Country Casual Teak White logo.png


Pinehurst Landscape.png
bottom of page